Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
1.10.2016 at 00:01 - 7.3.2017 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the course overview for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 14.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 16.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 21.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 23.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 28.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 30.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 4.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 6.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 11.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 13.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 18.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 20.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 25.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 27.4.2017
10:00 - 12:00

Course overview

For Finnish students 529001 and 529002 Biotieteiden perusteet I-II, preferably also 522018 Eläinfysiologian seminaari. For international students no special requirements.

To understand the physical and biological boundary conditions of sensory information, the principles and mechanisms of information processing in sensory organs and nervous systems, the adaptation of sensory systems to different environments and life styles, and animal communication.

Period 4 (March-May) every second year (2015, 2017, …) Tuesdays and Fridays 10-12.

All known sensory modalities, the major systems as well as “minority senses”.

Lectures, Four smaller exams during the course, plus a final exam.

Lecture handouts and literature that will be presented during the lectures.

Grading scale 0-5

Active participation and passing the exams gives 2 credits. 1 extra credit may be earned by writing an essay on a subject approved by the Professor.