Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
1.12.2016 at 08:00 - 10.1.2017 at 23:59

Messages

Markku Kanninen's picture

Markku Kanninen

Published, 29.12.2016 at 7:00

In 2017, the TROP140 course starts on Tuesday 23 January 2017.

Timetable

In 2017, the TROP140 course starts on Tuesday 23 January 2017.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 17.1.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 19.1.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 24.1.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 26.1.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 31.1.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 2.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 7.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 9.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 14.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 16.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 21.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 23.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Tue 28.2.2017
10:00 - 12:00
Thu 2.3.2017
10:00 - 12:00

Conduct of the course

Course structure
1. Contact teaching, including self-study of lectures (24 h)
2. Two individual tasks (essays and other tasks) (16 h)
3. Self-study of literature (115 h)
Dead lines
1. Completion of the individual tasks by the given dead line is a prerequisite for passing the course
Evaluation
1. Exam: 80%
2. Individual assignments: 20% (2x10%)
Credits
1. Successful completion of the course is 5 ECT credits

Description

3 cr of basic studies, e.g. TROP120 or corresponding knowledge.

The student will learn to explain structure and functioning of tropical forest ecosystems. The student will learn to identify factors affecting the biological diversity of tropical forests, and analyze options and constraints in the conservation of tropical forests.

B.Sc. studies (2nd year) III period.

General principles of the biology; evolution and genetics of tropical trees using selected examples; biological diversity of tropical forests; forest structure, form and function; processes and cycles; disturbance dynamics; conservation of tropical forests and landscapes.

Contact teaching 26 - Group work 12 - Self-study 96. The course consists of weekly lectures and home assignments.

Course handouts and other materials distributed during the course are available in the web. The following literature is optional:

Ghazoul & Sheil. 2010.Tropical Rain Forest Ecology, Diversity, and Conservation. Oxford University Press. 516 p.

Exam, individual reports. Attendance will be taken into account in final grading.

Teaching in English. This course can also be completed as an exam on literature (3 cr).

Prof. Kanninen