Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
15.8.2016 at 00:00 - 15.12.2016 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 6.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 8.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 13.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 15.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 20.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 22.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 27.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 29.9.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 4.10.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 6.10.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 11.10.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 13.10.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 18.10.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 20.10.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 1.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 3.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 8.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 10.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 15.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 17.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 22.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 24.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Tue 29.11.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 1.12.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Thu 8.12.2016
16:15 - 18:00
Mon 12.12.2016
15:15 - 18:00

Description

Quantum Mechanics I,II and Introduction to Particle Physics I+II.

The course describes the main concepts of Quantum Field Theory.

Basic concepts:

Fields, Bosons, Fermions, Amplitudes, Cross sections, Kinematics.

Quantum Electrodynamics (QED):

Lagrangian, Gauge invariance, Feynman diagrams.

Quantum Chromodynamics (QCD):

Concept of 'color', Lagrangian, Non-Abelian Gauge invariance, Feynman rules.

Electroweak interactions:

Chirality, Lagrangian, Higgs mechanism, Feynman rules, Quark and Lepton mixing, CP violation.

Lectures, exercises and final exam.

M. Peskin and D. Schroeder: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory, Addison-Wesley 1995.