Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
11.1.2020 at 00:00 - 18.3.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 11.3.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 13.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 18.3.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 20.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 25.3.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 27.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 1.4.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 3.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 8.4.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 17.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 22.4.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 24.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 29.4.2020
08:15 - 11:45
Fri 8.5.2020
10:15 - 11:45

Description

Master’s degree, exchange and visiting students in Animal Science or related disciplines.

Courses in Animal production, Nutrition of ruminants and Nutrition and production of swine and poultry, or equivalent knowledge are required.

After this course student knows the basic concepts in animal welfare and methodology used in animal welfare research. The student can evaluate and interpret the results of research in animal behavior and animal welfare, and assess the importance of production environment and management for farm animal welfare.

Period IV

Definition of animal welfare, methodology used in animal behavior and welfare research, interpretation of research results. Significance of production environment and management for farm animal welfare.

Lectures, assignments, seminars. 30 h lectures and seminars, 104 h independent studies.

Study materials will be provided during the course.

Examination or learning diary, assignments and seminar presentation. Grading scale 0-5.

University lecturer Tuomo Kokkonen

Replaces the former course 81687 (KERAV450) Kotieläinten käyttäytyminen ja hyvinvointi, 5 cr.