Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 13.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 14.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 20.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 21.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 27.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 28.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 3.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 4.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 10.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 11.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 17.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 18.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 24.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 25.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 3.3.2020
10:00 - 14:00

Other teaching

17.01. - 28.02.2020 Fri 14.15-16.00
Teaching language: English

Description

Master’s Programme in Atmospheric Sciences is responsible for the course.

Module where the course belongs to:

  • ATM300 Advanced Studies in Atmospheric Sciences
    Optional for:
    1. Study Track in Aerosol Physics
    2. Study Track in Atmospheric Chemistry and Analysis

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

This course requires students to participate beforehand the course 'Basics of atmospheric chemistry' if they have not attended other similar lectures during the last years.

ATM306 Basics of atmospheric chemistry

  • Central theories and concepts related to atmospheric chemistry
  • Skills necessary for critical thought and argumentation in atmospheric chemistry and related topics

The course will be lectured in the III period every other year (even years).

The course covers the following topics:

  • Atmospheric transport
  • Geochemical cycles of nitrogen, oxygen, carbon and sulphate
  • Oxidising power of the troposphere
  • Chemistry of atmospheric aerosols
  • Chemistry of the Stratosphere
  • Chemical modelling in different dimensions (advantages and disadvantages)
  • Greenhouse effect
  • Climate change
  • Geoengineering

Will be announced in the first lecture - all lecture presentations will be available for the students

Weekly lectures and exercises. In the exercise session all students have to provide a seminar talk on a related topic provided by the lecturer.

The final grade will be achieved by an written exam.

Written examination in the end of the course and one oral presentation by each student in the exercise lectures.