Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 14.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 15.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 21.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 22.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 28.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 29.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 4.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 5.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 11.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 12.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 18.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 19.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 25.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 26.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00

Other teaching

16.01. - 27.02.2020 Thu 10.15-12.00
Teaching language: English

Description

Master’s Programme in Atmospheric Sciences is responsible for the course.

Module where the course belongs to:

  • ATM300 Advanced Studies in Atmospheric Sciences
    Optional for:
    1. Study Track in Geophysics of the Hydrosphere

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Basic course in hydrology

Basic course in meteorology.

The course covers the hydrology in the different zone of climate in the Earth, from tropical to polar zones and from rain forests to deserts. This theory and methods of water balance mapping are reviewed first. Then specific hydrological regimes are introduced with examples. Water quality aspects are also of concern, The students will learn to understand, monitor and manage hydrological systems across large range of scales in various environmental conditions in the Earth.

Basic course in hydrology (Hydrologic peruskurssi) needed.

The course is offered in spring every 2nd year in period III-IV.

  1. Introduction
  2. Theory and methodology
  3. Areas with catchment response
  4. Flatlands
  5. Specific cases (seminars)

Required literature:

  • M. Falkenmark & T. Chapman, Comparative hydrology. An ecological approach to land and water resources.

Recommended literature:

  • Recent scientific papers distributed in the lectiures.

Lectures and seminar. The student have home work for the seminar preparation, they give presentation in the course and discuss together about the presentations.

Exam and seminar. Grading 1-5.

The course consists of lectures and seminar work. Each student prepares and gives a seminar on a specific watershed system. Written exam is organised after the course.