Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
10.2.2020 at 09:00 - 29.4.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 10.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 11.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 17.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 18.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 24.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 25.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 31.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 1.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 7.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 8.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 21.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 22.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 28.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 29.4.2020
14:00 - 16:00

Description

Compulsory for students on the Study Track in Chemistry of the Bachelor's Programme in Science (in English). For status in other degree programmes, consult the descriptions of KEK103 (in Finnish) or KEK183 (in Swedish)

Optional for other study tracks.

The course is available for other degree programs

Highschool chemistry courses. Atoms, Molecules and Interactions is recommended to be taken prior to this course.

Basic Studies in Chemistry

Kinetics and thermodynamics

  • Understanding differences between kinetic and thermodynamic aspects in reactions
  • Ability to use both differential and integrated rate laws
  • Using concepts in reaction mechanisms; rate determining steps
  • To estimate spontaneity of reaction using enthalpy, entropy and Gibbs energy

Chemical equilibrium

  • Being able to solve both heterogeneous and homogeneous equilibrium calculations
  • Being able to apply equilibrium concept in acid-base-systems and redox chemistry
  • Understanding how applied changes in the system affect the equilibrium

The spring semester of the first year of studies.

Free energy and reaction spontaneity, kinetics and mechanisms, equilibrium and Le Chatelier’s Principle, acid-base theory, buffers, electrochemistry, galvanic cell.

Lectures, homework and exam.

Nivaldo J. Tro, Chemistry: A Molecular Approach (Prentice Hall), chapters 13-18 in 1 - 3rd ed.; or chapters 14-19 in the 4th ed.

Exercises on-line. Group studying at the "study foyer" is encouraged.

Written exam elucidating both knowledge of theory and application of the topics named in Learning Outcomes.

General scale 1-5.

Offered annually in spring term in teaching period 4. First time offered in spring term 2020.

Mika Polamo, Ph.D., University Lecturer, Docent, Subject Teacher