Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
12.8.2019 at 12:00 - 4.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 4.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 6.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 9.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 11.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 13.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 16.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 18.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 20.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 23.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 25.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 27.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 30.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 2.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 4.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 7.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 9.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 11.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 14.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 16.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 18.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45

Description

Predominantly Students in Environmental Change and Global Sustainability Master Programme, other interested students

Bachelor degree in relevant field

After the course the student

- has basic understanding what sustainability science is and knows its historical development

- learns to discern the theoretical frameworks and key concepts behind the sustainability science

- has basic understanding how human and natural (or complex adaptive) systems interact

- can describe social-ecological systems and knows the fundamental principles of systems thinking, including matter and energy flows in a global context

- gains understanding of inter- and transdisciplinary approaches and learns to communicate in interdisciplinary contexts

- is aware of planetary boundaries/opportunities to understand sustainability problems and suggest possible solutions through inter- and transdisciplinary thinking

- understands the institutional contexts and conditions of sustainability problems and their solutions

- gets an idea of the contents of the master's programme and can develop a personal study plan

1st period

The course introduces basic principles of sustainability science with special reference to its interdisciplinary and systemic dimensions. The theoretical and methodological orientation is clarified through addressing real world sustainability problems like food security, energy production, climate change, access to clean water and other complex or wicked problems.

42 h of lectures, 42 h of group work, 51 h of independent activities.

Lecture materials and a text book (e.g. Bert J.M. de Vries: Sustainability Science, Cambridge University Press, New York, 585 p).

Grading on the general scale 0-5.

The overall grade consists of:

25 % lecture-specific self-evaluation matrices

25 % final self-evaluation matrix

50 % group work peer-evaluation

Detailed course evaluation criteria will be available in the Moodle area.

Janna Pietikäinen