Sakari Kuikka

ECGS 014

ECGS 014 Diagnosis of environmental problems in aquatic ecosystems

The overall view about the state of an ecosystem is obtained by linking pieces together. The beauty of Bayesian statistics is obvious in this task.

Enrol
12.8.2019 at 12:00 - 5.9.2019 at 23:59
Moodle
Log in to view the registration key for Moodle.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Thu 5.9.2019
09:15 - 11:45
Fri 6.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 9.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 13.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 16.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 20.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 23.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 27.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 30.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 4.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 7.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 11.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 14.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 18.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 28.10.2019
12:30 - 16:00

Material

Description

Mandatory for students expecting to accomplish the “Baltic Sea Studies” module. Optional for others.

B.Sc. in environmental economics, aquatic studies, environmental studies or other relevant field.

The course follows the Driver-Pressure-State-Impact-Response framework. After the course, student will understand the main causal relationships in the ecosystem of the Baltic Sea. Moreover, students understand the mechanisms of how the states of the Baltic Sea ecosystem react to the various pressures. The pressures on the drainage area are in a key role.

The first or second year of the Master programme.

Period I

Lecture material and other provided material on the course

Passing the course: 80 % times present, one-page description of each talk, seminar presentation in the end.

All lectures will be in English.

Sakari Kuikka

Replaces the former course 51878 Itämeritutkimuksen ajankohtaisia kysymyksiä 5 cr OR 863067 Vaihtuva teemakurssi 4 cr.