Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 13.1.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Fri 17.1.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 20.1.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 20.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Fri 24.1.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 27.1.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 27.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Fri 31.1.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 3.2.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Fri 7.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 10.2.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 10.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Fri 14.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 17.2.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Fri 21.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 24.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 2.3.2020
10:00 - 12:00
Mon 27.4.2020
10:00 - 12:00

Description

Master’s Programme in Economics (Research track). Open to doctoral students in economics.

Advanced Microeconomics 1 and 2 and knowledge of the basic concepts of microeconomic theory

Knowledge of mathematical analysis is certainly an advantage

After the course, the student should

  • Be familiar with the central concepts and results of non-cooperative game theory
  • Be able to apply game theoretic techniques in microeconomic applications

First spring term

The course studies the concepts and results of non-cooperative game theory. We introduce equilibrium concepts that pertain, on the one hand, to static and dynamic set ups and, on the other, incomplete information. Applicability of the theory is demonstrated via examples from the real world. Topics to be covered include strategic form games and Nash equilibrium, extensive form games and subgame perfect equilibrium, games of incomplete information and Bayesian Nash equilibrium, and repeated games.

In addition to the lecture slides, required readings include Chapters 7–9 of the textbook by Mas-Colell, Whinston and Green (Microeconomic Theory, 1995, Oxford University Press). Further reading material will be announced on the course website.

The course is lectured by Aalto University. All material related to the course is to be found on the course website.

The grade on a scale from 0 (fail) to 5 is based on the final exam. Problem sets are highly recommended but not mandatory.

Please note! Registration only through Aalto Universitys' Weboodi. Read more and apply for the study right at Aalto via this link.

The course consists of lectures (24 hours) and exercise sessions (8 hours), where solutions to the homework assignments are discussed. The course is completed by a final exam. While highly recommended, the exercise sessions are not mandatory.