Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
15.8.2019 at 09:00 - 15.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 4.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 5.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 11.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 12.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 18.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 19.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 25.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 26.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 2.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 3.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 9.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 10.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 16.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45

Other teaching

24.10.2019 Thu 12.15-13.45
Concepcion Garcia-Iglesias
Teaching language: English

Description

Open for students from ENS and other Master's level programmes.

The aim of the course will be to provide students with an advanced understanding of the most important developments in the history of European integration from an economic point of view. Students are expected to develop a firm grasp of the timing and nature of these developments, the most important areas and the interests of the member states.

Not offered every year, teaching period defined in the annual teaching plan.

The goal of this course is to present the facts, theories and controversies that are necessary to understand the integration process. The approach is based in economics analysis. However, economics is not enough; historical, political and cultural factors are presented when required to understand the process. The primary objectives of this course are then to increase the student's understanding of the developments of the European economic integration and their importance to today's world.

Required literature:

Neal, Larry (2007), The Economics of Europe and the European Union. Cambridge University Press: Cambridge.

Baldwin, R. and C. Wyplosz (2015). The Economics of European Integration, 4th edition. McGraw Hill: UK.

0-5

Language of instruction: English

Contact teaching. In exceptional cases, alternative methods of completion may be agreed upon with the academic coordinator of the programme.