Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
11.12.2018 at 09:00 - 1.2.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 15.1.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 17.1.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Tue 22.1.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 24.1.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Tue 29.1.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 31.1.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Tue 5.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 12.2.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 14.2.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Tue 19.2.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 21.2.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Tue 26.2.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 28.2.2019
12:15 - 13:45

Other teaching

22.01. - 29.01.2019 Tue 10.15-11.45
05.02.2019 Tue 12.15-13.45
12.02. - 26.02.2019 Tue 10.15-11.45
Lassi Saario
Teaching language: English
22.01. - 29.01.2019 Tue 12.15-13.45
05.02.2019 Tue 12.15-13.45
12.02. - 26.02.2019 Tue 12.15-13.45
Lassi Saario
Teaching language: English

Description

Introduction to Logic (or equivalent course).

The aim of the course is to get students master some of the central logical methods for showing the validity of arguments in formal logic and their significance in the light of meta-theoretical results.

Depending on the teacher, there will be a detailed exposition of proof-theoretic and/or semantic methods for showing the validity of arguments in formal logic, with an emphasis on predicate logic. The different methods will be linked through meta-theoretical results (completeness theorems).

Reading material to be announced at the beginning of the course.

For the literature exam: Dirk van Dalen, Logic and structure, Springer, 2004.

Assessment in the scale 0–5, based on the learning objectives.

Lecture course with exercise sessions and final exam. The student should register to one of the exercise groups. Completion of the course is possible also through a literature exam.