Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
14.2.2020 at 09:00 - 9.3.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 9.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 11.3.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 12.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 16.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 18.3.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 19.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 23.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 25.3.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 26.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 30.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 1.4.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 2.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 6.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 8.4.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 16.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 20.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 22.4.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 23.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 27.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 29.4.2020
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 30.4.2020
10:15 - 11:45

Description

The student will learn to:

  • understand how biosphere influences the composition of atmosphere and vice versa; including fluxes of trace gases from terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, and their linkages to biosphere functions and climate change
  • understand the biological (plant-plant and plant-insect) interactions mediated by air
  • explore using recent literature the scientific evidence for feedbacks between biosphere and atmospheric composition
  • familiarize with sampling and analysing data on trace gas exchange between plants and atmosphere

Period 4, 2nd year of MSc or postgraduate studies.

The main topics in the course are:

  1. Biogenic trace gases, their chemical and physical properties and exchange rates
  2. Production of reactive (BVOCs, ozone etc) and non-reactive gases (CH4, COS etc) in different scales and ecosystems
  3. Biotic and abiotic factors influencing the exchange of trace gases
  4. Exchange models
  5. Feedback processes linking ecosystems and climate change

Lectures 30 h, Practical work 15 h (mandatory), literature review 10 h (mandatory), independent work 80 h

Exam (50%), literature work (25%) and practical work report (25%)

Lectures, article collection and practical work instructions in Moodle.

Grading scale 1-5, Exam (50%), literature work (25%) and practical work report (25%).

Teaching in English.

Professor Jaana Bäck