Photo: Juho Aalto, SMEAR II station

Enrol
16.8.2019 at 09:00 - 4.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 4.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 5.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 6.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Wed 11.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 12.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 13.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Wed 18.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 19.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 20.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Wed 25.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 26.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 27.9.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Wed 2.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 3.10.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 4.10.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Wed 9.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 10.10.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 11.10.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Wed 16.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Thu 17.10.2019
08:15 - 09:45
Fri 18.10.2019
08:15 - 09:45

Description

Students learn about the fundamental processes that influence the energy and matter balance of forest ecosystems as well as the methodologies to measure energy and gas fluxes above forests. They will understand the basics of climate and weather systems and bioclimatology, and learn how terrestrial carbon sink can be modeled.

Maisterin ensimmäinen vuosi periodi 1

Energy and matter balances at different scales, carbon sink models, flux and process measurements, climate and weather systems, bioclimatology and extreme events, terrestrial feedbacks

Lectures 25, Calculation exercises 15, own work 60.

Terrestrial Biosphere-Atmosphere fluxes (Monson & Baldocchi 2014), selected chapters

0-5. Final examination 75% Assignments 25%

Teaching in English.

Prof. Jaana Bäck

Replaces the former course 830161 Metsämeteorologia 3 cr.