Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

In the spring's 2020 exceptional situation the course is arranged as online-teaching.

Enrol
13.12.2019 at 09:00 - 15.1.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 5.2.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 7.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 12.2.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 14.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 19.2.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 21.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 26.2.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 28.2.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 11.3.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 13.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 18.3.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 20.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 25.3.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Fri 27.3.2020
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 1.4.2020
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 8.4.2020
14:15 - 15:45

Conduct of the course

Course is arranged as online-teaching.

Description

Course ME-239 Puun kemiallinen jalostus ja tuotteet (Wood chemical processing and products) or corresponding knowledge.

After taking the course, students are able to describe how the properties of wood fibres vary, how they can be classified and modified, and how they affect the properties of fibre based products. Furthermore, students have the knowledge how to analyze the suitability of fibre raw material to different products.

Period III, recommended to be taken in the 4th or 5th year. The course will be organized every other year (even years).

Variation and measurement of wood fibres, fibre modification and its effect on product properties, manufacturing and use of nanocellusose, wood fibres as raw material for composites, textiles and biorefineries.

Active participation in the lectures, project work, written exam. 24 h lectures, 30 h project work, 81 h other individual studying.

Study material will be provided in the lectures.

Grading (0–5) based on the written exam and project work according to the principles to be announced later.

Teaching in English.

University lecturer Juha Rikala, responsible person for teaching is Dr. Jari Sirviö (VTT).

Replaces the former course 830074 Puu kuituraaka-aineena 5 cr.