Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Master's seminar in geoinformatics (geography).

Enrol
12.8.2019 at 09:00 - 4.9.2019 at 23:59
Moodle
Log in to view the registration key for Moodle.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 4.9.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 11.9.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 18.9.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 25.9.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 2.10.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 9.10.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 16.10.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 30.10.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 13.11.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 20.11.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 27.11.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 4.12.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 11.12.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 16.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 23.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 30.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 6.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 13.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 20.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 27.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 12.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 19.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 26.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 2.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 23.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 30.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00

Description

Compulsory for students specializing in geoinformatics.

Geography programme is responsible for the course

GEOG-G300

Available only for students specializing in geoinformatics.

Research Seminar in Geoinformatics trains students in 1) scientific writing 2) scientific presentation and 3) in providing scientific feedback. The students get support for their MSc and PhD thesis works and builds knowledge on the thesis and research activities ongoing at the department.

The recommended time for completion is in 1. and 2. year of M.Sc. Studies, during PhD studies.

Organised weekly throughout the year, periods 1, 2, 3, and 4.

The seminar is a combination of student presentations and teaching events, with emphasis on the student presentations. Teaching events include 1) Getting ready for MSc (choosing your topic, getting to know literature, making a research plan), 2) Scientific writing and presentation (structure of the thesis, helpful hints in the writing process) and 3) Presenting your work.

A list of recommended and required literature is provided on the course Moodle.

The seminar is student centered and conversational. All attendees participate in providing feedback to the presentators and on discussions on good scientific practices during the MSc and PhD theses.

The course is evaluated on the scale pass/fail.

The students can participate in the seminar sessions during one or two years. Completion of the seminar requires: 1. Participation in at least 12 seminar sessions or MSc thesis examinations of other students, 2. Giving two presentations (one on the study plan and broadly the field of the thesis and another on the advancements and results of the thesis), 3. Acting as opponent in two presentations. All activities are described in a study diary that the student maintains and delivered once the student has collected enough participations/presentations.