Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
28.10.2019 at 00:00 - 14.1.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 14.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 17.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 21.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 24.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 28.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 31.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 4.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 7.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 11.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 14.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 18.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 21.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 25.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 28.2.2020
15:15 - 17:00
Tue 10.3.2020
14:00 - 16:00

Other teaching

02.03.2020 Mon 09.00-16.00
03.03.2020 Tue 09.00-16.00
04.03.2020 Wed 09.00-16.00
05.03.2020 Thu 09.00-16.00
06.03.2020 Fri 09.00-16.00
Tuomas Haltia, Kari Keinänen
Teaching language: English

Description

Students of the Master´s Program in Genetics and Molecular Biosciences. Open to other interested students depending on space.

Bachelor-level knowledge on biochemistry.

After completing the course the student

  • is able to demonstrate advanced understanding of enzymes and enzyme catalysis
  • can isolate an enzyme from biological source, demonstrate or monitor its activity and characterize its properties in a quantitative manner

Periods 3 or 4.

Enzyme catalysis, kinetics, inhibition and regulation. Enzymes in biotechnology. Enzyme assays. Experimental methods used in enzyme purification and characaterization. The course contains lectures, independent reading and assignments, and laboratory work, which includes a written report.

Only up to 10 students can be admitted to the laboratory part. The course can be done in full (5 cr) or by participating in the lecture part (with exam and assignments) only (3 cr).

Assigments, participation in the laboratory work, report, exam.

The material will be given in the Moodle area of the course.

Exam , individual assignments and laboratory report, scale 1-5. The assessment criteria are described in the Moodle area of the course.

English

Tuomas Haltia, Kari Keinänen