Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
1.12.2019 at 00:00 - 2.3.2020 at 00:00

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 20.4.2020
12:15 - 16:00
Mon 18.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Tue 19.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Wed 20.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Thu 21.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Fri 22.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Mon 25.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Tue 26.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Wed 27.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Thu 28.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00
Fri 29.5.2020
09:00 - 17:00

Other teaching

06.04.2020 Mon 09.00-15.00
Suvi Taira
Teaching language: English

Description

MSc students in GMB masters program.

BSc in Molecular biology or genetics. Basic gene technology courses passed.

Student

  • can design PCR primers for targeted mutagenesis independently, knows most common applications of PCR, knows different types of oligonucleotide modifications.
  • can perform PCR independently, perform basic cloning independently.
  • knows principles in RNA isolation and handling and can perform RNA blotting.
  • knows the use of reporter fusions.
  • knows the principle of person identification by PCR.
  • can perform both native and denaturing electrophoresis for proteins and nucleic acids .

Period 4 yearly

A short intensive lecture period (8h) about PCR and primer design. Primer design exercise. Laboratory work 9 days.

PCR exercise and an exam. Attendance in laboratory work is oblicatory.

Lectures and power points in moodle, laboratory manual.

0-5, based on exercises and exam.

Suvi Taira

Replaces the former courses 529312 Gene technology II, 4 cr, and 529321 PCR and primer design, 1 cr.