Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
20.11.2019 at 12:00 - 15.1.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 15.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Fri 17.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Wed 22.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Fri 24.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Wed 29.1.2020
10:00 - 11:30
Fri 31.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Wed 5.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Fri 7.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Wed 12.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Fri 14.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Wed 19.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Fri 21.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00

Other teaching

04.03.2020 Wed 12.00-14.00
Ville Hietakangas
Teaching language: English

Description

The student is expected to have basic knowledge of gene structure, gene regulation, transcription and translation (Alberts level).

After the course the student will be able to recognize and describe the key concepts and terms related to gene regulation and epigenetics and the role of these processes in cell differentiation, development and pathophysiology. The student will also be able to discuss gene regulation at the global level, including the interrelationships between different regulatory levels. Through understanding the principles of the most common experimental approaches, the student will be able to analyze data presented in original research articles in the field.

First year spring.

The course focuses on the mechanisms and regulation of gene expression at different levels. Particular emphasis is on transcriptional regulation, the structure and function of transcription factors, cofactors and regulatory elements, mRNA processing and modifications, transport and mRNA turnover, the role of non-coding RNAs, and translational regulation. The course will also cover basic principles of epigenetic events, such as DNA methylation, histone modifications, histone variants and chromatin remodelling. The key experiments and research approaches within each field will be introduced to the students.

In order to pass the course the student has to pass the final exam and complete an independent writing assignment.

Recommended reading includes:

  • Latchman: Gene control
  • Allis et al.: Epigenetics

The student will be assessed with the final grading 0-5. The grading is based on the final exam (80%) and the independent writing assignment (20%).

Ville Hietakangas

Replaces two of the former courses:

  • 52936 Eukaryoottien geenisäätely 3 cr
  • 529026 Gene regulation 3 cr
  • 529014 Epigenetics 3 cr
  • 529232 mRNA processing in eukaryotes 3 cr