Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
26.8.2019 at 00:00 - 17.1.2020 at 00:00

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 14.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Wed 15.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Fri 17.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Tue 21.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Wed 22.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Fri 24.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Tue 28.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Wed 29.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Fri 31.1.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Tue 4.2.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Wed 5.2.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Fri 7.2.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Tue 11.2.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Wed 12.2.2020
08:15 - 10:00
Fri 14.2.2020
08:15 - 10:00

Other teaching

24.02.2020 Mon 10.00-12.00
Marja Mikkola
Teaching language: English

Description

The student is expected to be have basic knowledge of principles of developmental biology including basics of gene expression regulation and cell signaling; fertilization; gastrulation and patterning of the embryo; cell polarity, migration and apoptosis; and to be acquainted with the most common model organisms and research methods used in developmental biology research.

Recommended background reading is e.g. Gilbert and Barresi, Developmental Biology (Sinauer).

  • The objective of this lecture series is to give the student a thorough view of the development of different organs.
  • The student will be able to describe the similarities in development and the special features of different organs.
  • A crucial part is to learn how different genes and signaling pathways guide organogenesis.
  • The student will also get acquainted with a number of different tissue-specific stem cells, how they regulate tissue homeostasis, and their contribution to stem cell based therapies.

Spring term, period III (1st year of GMB studies).

  • Principles of organogenesis: induction, patterning, morphogenesis and differentiation in several different ectodermal, mesodermal and endodermal organs.
  • Principles of stem cell biology: definition and self-renewing principles of embryonic stem cells, induced pluripotent stem cells, and adult stem cells in different tissues.
  • Gene regulatory networks in development.

The course consists of an obligatory pre-assignment (20%), whose nature may vary from year to year (e.g an essay based on a review article), and lectures and exam (80%). Approx. 30h of lectures, and approx. 100h of independent work. The student has to return the pre-assignment work in order to be eligible to take and pass the exam.

Material provided on the course. Recommended reading: Gilbert and Barresi, Developmental Biology (Sinauer).

Grading is based on the pre-assignment (0-5) and exam (0-5). Exam is based on lectures, and may also include book chapters and articles indicated by lecturers. It is not possible to pass the course without the pre-assignment work.

Docent Marja Mikkola (Institute of Biotechnology, marja.mikkola@helsinki.fi)

This course is recommended before the laboratory course Methods in functional genetics and development.

Replaces the former course 529237 Stem cells and organogenesis 4 cr.