Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
16.8.2019 at 09:00 - 5.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Thu 5.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 9.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 12.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 16.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 19.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 23.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 26.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 30.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 3.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 7.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 10.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 14.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 28.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 31.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 7.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 25.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 5.12.2019
14:00 - 16:00
Mon 9.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 12.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45

Description

The course is compulsory for students in the HNFB Master’s programme as part of the advanced study module.

The course is available for students from other Master’s programmes by agreement.  

HNFB-201 The kaleidoscope of food and human nutrition studies and other 1st year HNFB-courses

HNFB-202 Dietary assessment methods, HNFB-203 Nutritional status assessment, HNFB-212 Pathobiology of chronic diseases and other HNFB-courses from the Human nutrition track will support learning on this course.

After completing the course, the student will be able to

  • combine information cumulated from different studies and evaluate the role of nutrition in the prevention of noncommunicable chronic diseases (NCD) such as obesity, type 2 diabetes, coronary heart disease, cancers, osteoporosis and dementia.
  • proportion the significance of genes, diet and other lifestyle factors in the development of NCDs
  • apply a set of criteria for grading evidence on the relationship between a dietary factor and a NCD

2nd year of master´s studies in the HNFB programme , period I+II

The course deepens the student´s knowledge on the links between nutrition and health:

  • Scientific evidence, how evidence is evaluated for different purposes
  • The roles of diet, other lifestyle factors and genes in the prevention of chronic diseases. The consept of nutrigenetics.
  • Present evidence linking nutrition (nutrients, other substance, foods, diets) with the risk and prevention of non-communicable diseases (NCDs), especially obesity, type 2 diabetes, coronary heart disease, cancers, osteoporosis and dementia.

Electronic materials will be used. Scientific articles and textbook chapters as informed in the beginning of the course.

Active participation in lectures and seminars, presentations, group work, essays

Grading 0-5. The grading criteria will be displayed on Moodle platform

Moodle-learning platform is in use.

Lectures and seminars, group work, independent studying. Attendance on 80 % of lectures and seminars.

Course performance consists of lectures and seminars, presentations, group work and essays

Riitta Freese