Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Intermediate option course

Attitudes and ideologies of varieties of English

This course focuses on so-called "nonstandard" varieties of English, including ethnic and social varieties, English as a foreign language, and children's language, with the goal of understanding the linguistic underpinnings of such varieties and how these rules differ from prescriptive varieties. A secondary goal of the course is to view the language attitudes that are associated with nonstandard varieties. Students are expected to attend class regularly, to keep up with reading assignments, and to contribute to class discussion. Assessment is based on group discussions, two short papers (3-4 pages), and in-class assignments. Students should have completed their basic studies before enrolling in the course.

The main reading for the course is Lippi-Green, Rosina (2012) English with an Accent: language, ideology and discrimination in the United States. There are a few copies of this book in the library, and the teacher has one copy that can be checked out for a 1-day period. Other course materials are provided on-line.

Note that this is an "options" course,and the rule for options courses is that you can't miss more than three classes.

Enrol
12.12.2017 at 09:00 - 9.1.2018 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 17.1.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 24.1.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 31.1.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 7.2.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 14.2.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 21.2.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 28.2.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 14.3.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 21.3.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 28.3.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 11.4.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 18.4.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 25.4.2018
14:15 - 15:45
Wed 2.5.2018
14:15 - 15:45

Description

Opintojakso on vaihtoehto opintosuunnan opiskelijoille ja valinnaisten opintojen opiskelijoille.

Erikoistumisvaihtoehdon suoritettuaan opiskelija on perehtynyt syvällisemmin tietyn kielitieteen tutkimusalueen teemoihin ja kykenee hahmottamaan erikoistumisalueeseen liittyen kandidaatintutkielmansa kysymyksenasettelua.

Jakso suoritetaan aineopinnoissa opintojen toisena ja/tai kolmantena vuonna.

Tarkempi sisältö vaihtelee kursseittain.

Ilmoitetaan opetusohjelmassa tai ensimmäisellä tunnilla.

Ilmoitetaan opetusohjelmassa tai ensimmäisellä tunnilla.

Perustuu osaamistavoitteisiin. Ilmoitetaan opetusohjelmassa tai ensimmäisellä tunnilla; 0-5.

Vaihtelevat vuosittain ja kursseittain.

Turo Hiltunen