Wickhambreaux kingfisher photo: John Calton

TEXT ANALYSIS II

This group meets in the autumn term, starting Tuesday 10 September in sali 19, Metsätalo.

This is a course for English philology students offering further guidance and practice in translating from Finnish into English. The aim is to develop fully idiomatic written English expression across a range of written styles and media through detailed consideration of lexical, grammatical and rhetorical variation according to cultural settings and specific contexts of translation. We will take on collaborative work with several organisations including the National Theatre, the Otava publishing house and a project called Vastuullinen tiede (https://www.vastuullinentiede.fi/). Reading in the area of translation studies may be assigned at various points in the course.

Students will be expected to prepare translation drafts for each meeting. The drafts will form the basis for in-class revision, work in pairs and small groups, making use of software track change tools, traditional reference material, language corpus program(s) and internet searches. Assessment will be based in equal measure on work submitted, active participation in the classwork (usual department attendance rules apply) and a final in-class examination. The assignments will typically involve translating texts of c. 200-250 words.

Work to be uploaded by Sunday in preparation for the Tuesday class. Save work as .docx (i.e. not .pdf) and remember to put your name in the document.

Enrol
13.8.2019 at 09:00 - 25.8.2019 at 23:59
Moodle
Log in to view the registration key for Moodle.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 10.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 17.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 24.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 1.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 8.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 15.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 29.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 5.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 12.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 19.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 26.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 3.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 10.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45

Other teaching

10.09. - 15.10.2019 Tue 14.15-15.45
29.10. - 10.12.2019 Tue 14.15-15.45
John Calton
Teaching language: English
16.01. - 27.02.2020 Thu 14.15-15.45
12.03. - 02.04.2020 Thu 14.15-15.45
16.04. - 30.04.2020 Thu 14.15-15.45
John Calton
Teaching language: English

Description

Opintojakso on vaihtoehto opintosuunnan opiskelijoille ja valinnaisten opintojen opiskelijoille.

Erikoistumisvaihtoehdon suoritettuaan opiskelija on perehtynyt syvällisemmin tietyn kielitieteen tutkimusalueen teemoihin ja kykenee hahmottamaan erikoistumisalueeseen liittyen kandidaatintutkielmansa kysymyksenasettelua.

Jakso suoritetaan aineopinnoissa opintojen toisena ja/tai kolmantena vuonna.

Tarkempi sisältö vaihtelee kursseittain.

Ilmoitetaan opetusohjelmassa tai ensimmäisellä tunnilla.

Ilmoitetaan opetusohjelmassa tai ensimmäisellä tunnilla.

Perustuu osaamistavoitteisiin. Ilmoitetaan opetusohjelmassa tai ensimmäisellä tunnilla; 0-5.

Vaihtelevat vuosittain ja kursseittain.

Turo Hiltunen