Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Introduction

The seminar will support the writing of the master's thesis.

Enrol
14.8.2017 at 09:00 - 4.5.2018 at 23:59

Interaction

Teachers are Miriam Hägele, Ossi Niemimäki and Petri Ola.

Timetable

First meeting of the spring will be on Friday, 19. January, 12.15-14.00 in Exactum C123. In the first meeting we will plan the program of the seminar. Hopefully everyone who is interested in participating will be able to attend.

NOTE: Last meetings of the seminar will be held next week, and both Wednesday and Friday are reserved for student talks. So, in case you want to finish your seminar and earn the five credits, please send an email to one of the teachers and tell which day you prefer.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 4.9.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 5.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 6.9.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 7.9.2017
08:15 - 10:00
Thu 7.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Fri 8.9.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 11.9.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 12.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 13.9.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 14.9.2017
08:15 - 10:00
Thu 14.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Fri 15.9.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 18.9.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 19.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 20.9.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 21.9.2017
08:15 - 10:00
Thu 21.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Fri 22.9.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 25.9.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 26.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 27.9.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 28.9.2017
08:15 - 10:00
Thu 28.9.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Fri 29.9.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 2.10.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 3.10.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 4.10.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 6.10.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 9.10.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 10.10.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 11.10.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 13.10.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 16.10.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 17.10.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 18.10.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 20.10.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 30.10.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 31.10.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 1.11.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 3.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 6.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 7.11.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 8.11.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 10.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 13.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 14.11.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 15.11.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 20.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 21.11.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 22.11.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 24.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 27.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 28.11.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 29.11.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 1.12.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 4.12.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 5.12.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Fri 8.12.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 11.12.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 12.12.2017
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 13.12.2017
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 15.12.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 16.1.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 17.1.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 19.1.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 23.1.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 24.1.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 26.1.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 30.1.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 31.1.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 2.2.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 6.2.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 7.2.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 9.2.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 13.2.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 14.2.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 16.2.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 20.2.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 21.2.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 23.2.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 27.2.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 28.2.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 2.3.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 13.3.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 14.3.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 16.3.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 20.3.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 21.3.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 23.3.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 27.3.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 28.3.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 6.4.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 10.4.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 11.4.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 13.4.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 17.4.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 18.4.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 20.4.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Tue 24.4.2018
16:15 - 18:00
Wed 25.4.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 27.4.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 2.5.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 4.5.2018
12:15 - 14:00

Material

Conduct of the course

The seminar will be graded based on active participation in the group meetings (two meetings a month are obligatory), and by giving small presentations either alone, or as part of a group together with other students.

NOTE: Last meetings of the seminar will be held next week, and both Wednesday and Friday are reserved for student talks. So, in case you want to finish your seminar and earn the five credits, please send an email to one of the teachers and tell which day you prefer.

Description

Students in Master programme in Mathematics and Statistics

In mathematics most required advanced studies as well as all essential courses on the thesis topic conducted before starting the thesis project full-time.

Master's thesis seminar (compulsory)

The thesis shows the student's ability in scientific thinking, understanding of the area of the thesis, command of research methods (in statistics) and good skills in scientific writing. The thesis writing process also demonstrates the student's ability to plan and manage his or her own work either as a part of a larger project or independently, guided by the supervisor.

Mathematics and Applied mathematics: Starting at the beginning of the second study year and finishing at the end of second study year of the 2-year programme.

Statistics and Social statistics: Starting during the first study year, at the beginning of the second study year at the latest and finishing at the end of second study year of the 2-year programme.

Thesis content is negotiated with the supervisor. A typical length for a thesis is 30-50 pages, but this varies based on the topic.

The thesis may be based entirely on previous research literature, or it may additionally include original theoretical, empirical or constructive work by the student. A thesis is not expected to contain new scientific results.

Students may survey examples of Master's theses in the e-thesis library. After finding a supervisor and a topic, the work is conducted under personal guidance.

See section 16. Arviointimenetelmät ja –kriteerit sekä arvosteluasteikko in https://wiki.helsinki.fi/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=235733753

The thesis project starts with finding a supervisor and a thesis topic. Then a short (1-2 pages) plan and a supervision plan are written that are mutually to be accepted by the thesis supervisor and the thesis candidate. Then the professor in charge of the study track in question approves the project. After the writing of the thesis is completed, the thesis can proceed to the final approval and grading as specified in the Faculty and University level instructions.

Petri Ola, Sirkka-Liisa Varvio and the responsible teachers for each study track.