Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Topics: This course is an introduction to Partial Differential Equations (PDEs). It covers four important linear equations: transport equation, Laplace's equation, heat equation and wave equation. The purpose of this course is to introduce some techniques and methodologies in the mathematical treatment of PDEs.

Prerequisites: Differentiaaliyhtälöt I ja II, Vektorianalyysi I ja II.

Enrol

Messages

Xiao Zhong's picture

Xiao Zhong

Published, 29.4.2019 at 10:18

Hi,

This is to remind you that we have exercise session on May 3rd.

Best,

Xiao

Xiao Zhong's picture

Xiao Zhong

Published, 20.4.2019 at 12:41

Hi,

The second course exam will be on May 8, 2019 from 14:00 to 16:30 in room D123 of Exactum.
For the exam content, see Exercises 7-11. Note that the exam starts at 14:00 sharp.

Have a nice Easter holiday.

Best,

Xiao

Xiao Zhong's picture

Xiao Zhong

Published, 11.3.2019 at 16:53

Hi,

The first lecture in period IV is on March 13, 2019.
There is no exercise session on March 15, 2019.
The first exercise session in period IV is on March 22, 2019.

Best,

Xiao

Xiao Zhong's picture

Xiao Zhong

Published, 21.2.2019 at 16:08

Hi,

The first course exam will be on March 6, 2019 from 14:00 to 16:30 in the room BK106 of Exactum.
The exam content goes to Possion's kernel for upper half-space, see Exercises 1-6. Note that
the exam starts at 14:00 sharp.

Best,

Xiao

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 16.1.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 17.1.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 23.1.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 24.1.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 30.1.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 31.1.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 6.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 7.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 13.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 14.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 20.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 21.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 27.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 28.2.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 13.3.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 14.3.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 20.3.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 21.3.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 27.3.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 28.3.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 3.4.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 4.4.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 10.4.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 11.4.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Wed 17.4.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 25.4.2019
14:15 - 16:00
Thu 2.5.2019
14:15 - 16:00

Other teaching

18.01. - 01.03.2019 Fri 14.15-16.00
15.03. - 12.04.2019 Fri 14.15-16.00
26.04. - 03.05.2019 Fri 14.15-16.00
Xiao Zhong
Teaching language: English

Material

L. C. Evans: Partial Differential Equations, Springer, 2010.

Other

Tasks

Exercise 1

Exercise 2

Exercise 3

Exercise 4

Exercise 5

Exercise 6

Exercise 1 Solutions

Exercise 2 Solutions

Exercise 3 Solutions

Exercise 4 Solutions

Exercise 5 Solutions

Exercise 6 Solutions

Exercise 7 Solutions

Exercise 8 Solutions

Exercise 9 Solutions

Exercise 10 Solutions

Exercise 11 Solutions

Conduct of the course

There will be two examinations of 2,5 hours, one at the end of each period. The maximum of each exam is 24 points, and to pass the course one has to get the minimum of 8 points in each exam. Bonus points from solutions of exercises: 25 % of problems solved = 1 point, 35 % = 2 points, 45 % = 3 points, 55 % = 4 points, 65 % = 5 points, 75 % = 6 points, to be added to the results of examinations.

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Differentiaaliyhtälöt I ja II, Vektorianalyysi I ja II

Master studies

This course is an introduction to Partial Differential Equations (PDEs). We learn some techniques and methodologies in the mathematical treatment of PDEs.

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. or 2. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

Linear transport equation, Laplace's equation, heat equation and wave equation.

Lectures and exercise classes

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam, other methods will be described later