Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Mathematical logic

This is the core course of the mathematical logic specialization of the Master's programme in Mathematics and Statistics.

The main topics of the course are the completeness theorems of propositional and predicate logic and Gödel's incompleteness theorems. Methods and topics needed for these are formal deduction, definability, primitive recursive and recursive functions. During the course, the students learn about the aims, strengths and limitations of formal proof systems.

Gödel's incompleteness theorem is sometimes called the most misunderstood theorem of mathematics. This course gives you the prerequisites needed to thoroughly understand what the theorem is really about!

Enrol
11.12.2017 at 09:00 - 2.5.2018 at 23:59
Moodle
Log in to view the registration key for Moodle.

Messages

Åsa Hirvonen

Published, 11.1.2018 at 15:15

The course will contain written coursework, peer review, etc. and we will decide on its scheduling during the lecture on Monday January 15th, so please show up to influence the outcome.

Also, note that exercises start already on the first week.

Course material, exercise sets, announcements, etc. will be posted on the Moodle page of the course, so please enrol using the link above.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 15.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 16.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 22.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 23.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 29.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 30.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 5.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 6.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 12.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 13.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 19.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 20.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 26.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 27.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 12.3.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 13.3.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 19.3.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 20.3.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 26.3.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 27.3.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 9.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 10.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 16.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 17.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 23.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 24.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 30.4.2018
10:15 - 12:00

Other teaching

18.01. - 01.03.2018 Thu 14.15-16.00
15.03. - 22.03.2018 Thu 14.15-16.00
05.04. - 03.05.2018 Thu 14.15-16.00
Fan Yang
Teaching language: English

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Mathematical routine aquired during B.Sc. level mathematics courses. Introduction to logic I&II help, but are not strictly necessary.

Master studies

The course gives basic knowledge in the strengths and limitations of formal proofs

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

The main topics of the course are the completeness theorems of propositional and predicate logic and Gödel's incompleteness theorems. Methods and topics needed for these are formal deduction, definability, primitive recursive and recursive functions.

Jouko Väänänen ”Matemaattinen logiikka” (alternatively e.g. Herbert B. Enderton ”A Mathematical Introduction to Logic”)

Lectures and exercises

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam and exercises or general exam