Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Mathematical logic

This is the core course of the mathematical logic specialization of the Master's programme in Mathematics and Statistics.

The main topics of the course are the completeness theorems of propositional and predicate logic and Gödel's incompleteness theorems. Methods and topics needed for these are formal deduction, definability, primitive recursive and recursive functions. During the course, the students learn about the aims, strengths and limitations of formal proof systems.

Gödel's incompleteness theorem is sometimes called the most misunderstood theorem of mathematics. This course gives you the prerequisites needed to thoroughly understand what the theorem is really about!

The course runs online since 18.3. - more info on the Moodle area.

Enrol

Messages

Åsa Hirvonen

Published, 18.3.2020 at 10:27

The course teaching has moved online - all information is posted on the course Moodle page. If you for some reason cannot access the info, contact the lecturer.

Timetable

The course consists of lectures Tuesdays 14-16 and Fridays 10-12, and exercise classes Fridays 12-14. Please note that exercises start already the first week.

Also there will be coursework to hand in with specified deadlines (see Moodle area).

DateTimeLocation
Tue 14.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 17.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 21.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 24.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 28.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 31.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 4.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 7.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 11.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 14.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 18.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 21.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 25.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 28.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 10.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 13.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 17.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 20.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 24.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 27.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 31.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 3.4.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 7.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 17.4.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 21.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 24.4.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 28.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00

Other teaching

17.01. - 28.02.2020 Fri 12.15-14.00
13.03. - 03.04.2020 Fri 12.15-14.00
17.04. - 24.04.2020 Fri 12.15-14.00
Åsa Hirvonen, Joni Puljujärvi
Teaching language: English

Conduct of the course

The course consists of lectures, exercises, and writing tasks. The details can be found on the course Moodle area.
Alternatively the course can be taken by passing a general examination.

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Mathematical routine aquired during B.Sc. level mathematics courses. Introduction to logic I&II help, but are not strictly necessary.

Master studies

The course gives basic knowledge in the strengths and limitations of formal proofs

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

The main topics of the course are the completeness theorems of propositional and predicate logic and Gödel's incompleteness theorems. Methods and topics needed for these are formal deduction, definability, primitive recursive and recursive functions.

Jouko Väänänen ”Matemaattinen logiikka” (alternatively e.g. Herbert B. Enderton ”A Mathematical Introduction to Logic”)

Lectures and exercises

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam and exercises or general exam