Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
9.12.2019 at 09:00 - 24.4.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Fri 17.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 24.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 31.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 7.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 14.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 21.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 28.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 13.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 20.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 27.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 3.4.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 17.4.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Fri 24.4.2020
12:15 - 14:00

Other teaching

17.01. - 28.02.2020 Fri 12.15-14.00
13.03. - 03.04.2020 Fri 12.15-14.00
17.04. - 24.04.2020 Fri 12.15-14.00
Åsa Hirvonen, Joni Puljujärvi
Teaching language: English

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Mathematical routine aquired during B.Sc. level mathematics courses. Introduction to logic I&II help, but are not strictly necessary.

Master studies

The course gives basic knowledge in the strengths and limitations of formal proofs

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

The main topics of the course are the completeness theorems of propositional and predicate logic and Gödel's incompleteness theorems. Methods and topics needed for these are formal deduction, definability, primitive recursive and recursive functions.

Jouko Väänänen ”Matemaattinen logiikka” (alternatively e.g. Herbert B. Enderton ”A Mathematical Introduction to Logic”)

Lectures and exercises

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam and exercises or general exam