Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

See 'Messages'

Enrol

Messages

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 17.4.2020 at 15:27

I have added solutions to Exercises 13 to "Tasks" but still try to solve the questions before reading the solutions.
Also if you have questions on the essay or you need help with it, please contact me by e-mail.

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 16.4.2020 at 16:08

New material in "Tasks".

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 13.4.2020 at 12:00

New material in "Tasks".

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 7.4.2020 at 14:56

Due to the Easter break, there is no new solutions this week. It is time to start thinking
the essay. An example of a topic could be Martin's axiom and some consequence of it,
see Kunen's book. Please, contact me if you have difficulties in finding a topic.

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 31.3.2020 at 16:28

New material in "Tasks".

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 25.3.2020 at 11:48

Due to Easter, the correct dates for Exercise 11 are 6-17.4.

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 24.3.2020 at 15:44

New material in "Task"

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 18.3.2020 at 11:43

New material in 'Tasks'

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 17.3.2020 at 11:22

It is now time to study mathematics the way I currently study it myself i.e. by reading. As I have said in
the course reading mathematics is not just reading, at least 90% of it is thinking - recreating the proofs
in one's own head.
The exercises for each week will tell the speed the course is supposed to proceed. The sollutions to
the exercises (will be found from the 'Tasks' page) will contain also additional material. The students are
strongly recommended to ask questions from me by e-mail every time they come across something
that they find difficult to understand. The students can also send their sollutions to the exercises to me for
comments. This course can now be passed by an essee on some topic related to the course. A student can
choose the topic freely and in the case they do not find one, they can ask me.
I am also open for other alternative ways of passing the course. When the contach teaching
is alowed again, we can organize a session (or sessions) in which we review the material (also available to those
that have already passed the course).

Tapani Hyttinen

Published, 13.1.2020 at 9:26

The first exercise class is on Fri 24.1.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 13.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 16.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 20.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 23.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 27.1.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 30.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 3.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 6.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 10.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 13.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 17.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 20.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 24.2.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 27.2.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 9.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 12.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 16.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 19.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 23.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 26.3.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 30.3.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 2.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 6.4.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 16.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 20.4.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 23.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 27.4.2020
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 30.4.2020
14:15 - 16:00

Other teaching

17.01. - 28.02.2020 Fri 14.15-16.00
13.03. - 03.04.2020 Fri 14.15-16.00
17.04. - 24.04.2020 Fri 14.15-16.00
Tapani Hyttinen
Teaching language: English

Material

Lecture notes

Other

Tasks

Exercise 1

Exercise 2

Exercise 3

Exercise 4

Exercise 5

Exercise 6

Exercise 7

Exercise 8

Exercise 9

Sollutions 8 and extra material

Exercise 10

Sollutions 9 and extra material

Exercise 11

Sollutions 10

Exercise 12

Solutions 11

Exercise 13

Solutions 12

Solutions 13

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

E.g. Johdatus logiikkaan II

Master studies

The course gives the basic knowledge of set theory including basics of forcing

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. or 2. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

Ordinals, cardinals, forcing, consistency results

Lecture notes

Lectures and exercise classes

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam, other methods will be described later