Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
13.8.2018 at 09:00 - 13.12.2018 at 23:59

Messages

Juha Kontinen's picture

Juha Kontinen

Published, 4.12.2018 at 14:47

Info for the last two weeks of the course:

- There will be no lecture of Thursday 6.12 (Independence Day),
-The exam of the course will be on Thursday 13.12, 9-12, in B121,
- On Monday 10.12 we review the course material with an eye on the exam.

Juha Kontinen's picture

Juha Kontinen

Published, 28.10.2018 at 20:55

The lecture of Monday 29.10 is cancelled.

Juha Kontinen's picture

Juha Kontinen

Published, 29.8.2018 at 17:06

The first lecture of the course will be on Thursday 6.9 and the first exercise class of Tuesday 11.9.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 3.9.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 4.9.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 6.9.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 10.9.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 11.9.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 13.9.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 17.9.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 18.9.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 20.9.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 24.9.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 25.9.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 27.9.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 1.10.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 2.10.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 4.10.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 8.10.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 9.10.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 11.10.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 15.10.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 16.10.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 18.10.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 29.10.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 30.10.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 1.11.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 5.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 6.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 8.11.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 12.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 13.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 15.11.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 19.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 20.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 22.11.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 26.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 27.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 29.11.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 3.12.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 4.12.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 10.12.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Tue 11.12.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Thu 13.12.2018
10:15 - 12:00

Material

Materials

Tasks

Exercise set 1

Exercise set 2

Exercise set 3

Exercise set 4

Exercise set 5

Exercise set 6

Exercise set 7

Exercise set 8

Exercise set 9

Exercise set 10

Exercise set 11

Exercise set 12

Exercise set 13

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

E.g. Johdatus logiikkaan II

Master studies

Basic techniques of finite model theory such as the Ehrenfeucht–Fraïssé game and some classical results of descriptive complexity theory.

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. or 2. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

Ehrenfeucht–Fraïssé game and the pebble game, finite automata, second-order logic, fixed-point logics, infinitary logic, Turing machines and complexity classes, zero-one laws

H.-D. Ebbinghaus and J. Flum: Finite Model Theory (1999); L. Libkin: Elements of finite model theory (2004)

Lectures and exercise classes

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam, other methods will be described later