Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
12.8.2019 at 09:00 - 12.12.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Thu 5.9.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 12.9.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 19.9.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 26.9.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 3.10.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 10.10.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 17.10.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 31.10.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 7.11.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 14.11.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 21.11.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 28.11.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 5.12.2019
10:15 - 12:00
Thu 12.12.2019
10:15 - 12:00

Other teaching

05.09. - 17.10.2019 Thu 10.15-12.00
31.10. - 12.12.2019 Thu 10.15-12.00
Stefanus Geritz
Teaching language: English

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

BSc courses on differential equations, linear algebra, probability theory

Constructing mathematical models of biological phenomena, with emphasis on the derivation of the models from the underlying processes on the level of individual behavior. Analysing the models using the qualitative theory of ordinary differential equations, multiple time-scales, and numerical methods.

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

This course focuses on how to construct and analyse mathematical models of population behavior, rigorously derived from the mechanics of the underlying processes on the level of the individuals, and the analysis of these models to obtain results relevant to the application field. Many examples are taken from ecology but provide methods that are transferable to other fields as well. Topics include mono- and bimolecular reactions, reaction networks, the principle of mass action, predator-prey models, competition models, diffusion and taxis, pattern formation, structured populations and developmental delays.

Lectures and exercise classes

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam, other methods will be described later