Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
13.1.2020 at 08:00 - 4.5.2020 at 00:00

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 13.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 22.1.2020
14:15 - 16:00
Mon 27.1.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 3.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 10.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 17.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 24.2.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 9.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 16.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 23.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 30.3.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 6.4.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 20.4.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 27.4.2020
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 4.5.2020
12:15 - 15:00

Material

Other

Conduct of the course

Message to the partcipants of the course History of Mathematics 16.3.2020 regarding the lectures in the exceptional circumstances due to the corona-virus.

I lectured the course today as usual, with only four souls in audience. I had hoped that we could keep on lecturing, but now it does not seem wise anymore. The Government has just decided to close schools and universities in the country, which makes it impossible to continue the course as before. I can only regret the situation. Most important I hope that you and your immediate family and friends are safe.

I'm open to suggestions how we should continue the course. I'm committed to helping each and everyone of you who have diligently taken part in my lectures to pass the course. You can contact me with suggestions by email: johan.sten@helsinki.fi and I can be reached by phone +358 442794907 and also on whatsapp.

In the meantime, continue reading the lecture slides. Today we practiced a bit of divisione-per-galea and Newton's method of finding the tangent of a curve using his method of fluxion. Such are typical questions in the exam. Also I hope you will now have the time to write a short essay on a historical topic. Let me know if you need help or instructions.

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Mathematics and Applied mathematics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Bachelor studies

Overview of the History of Mathematics from ancient times to the 19th century. Features of early Mathematics in Finland.

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. or 2. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

Number systems, Greek mathematics, algorithms for computing divisions and square roots, problem solving before algebra, algebra cossa, trigonometry, analytical geometry, infinitesimal calculus, features of 18th century mathematics. Early mathematics in Finland.

Material provided by the lecturer. General: V. J. Katz: A History of Mathematics (available online).

Lectures, optional written essay on a topic of interest

Exam and written essay. Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam, other methods will be described later