Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
23.10.2017 at 09:00 - 13.12.2017 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 30.10.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 31.10.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 6.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 7.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 13.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 14.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 20.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 21.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 27.11.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 28.11.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 4.12.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 5.12.2017
12:15 - 14:00
Mon 11.12.2017
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 12.12.2017
12:15 - 14:00

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Statistics and Social statistics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Bsc level statistics, R software

Computational statistics

Knowledge of methods for high-dimensional inference problems and practical experience of solving them with computer.

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. or 2. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

Statistical inference when either the number of data units is large and/or each unit has been measured on a large number of variables. Includes techniques for variable selection, dimension reduction and large-scale inference. Applications across modern data science.

Material given later.

Lectures, computer excersises, project work.

Computer excercises and project work, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exercises and project work.