Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
11.12.2017 at 09:00 - 27.2.2018 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 15.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 16.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 22.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 23.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 29.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 30.1.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 5.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 6.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 12.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 13.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 19.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 20.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Mon 26.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00
Tue 27.2.2018
10:15 - 12:00

Other teaching

15.01. - 26.02.2018 Mon 12.15-14.00
Jyrki Möttönen
Teaching language: English

Material

Conduct of the course

Course exam: 5.3.2018, 12:15-14:00, B210.

Working out of exercises is rewarded as extra points in the grading. The rewarded points apply if the student has reached the minimum points from the course exam or from the general exams (14.3.2018, 11.4.2018, 13.6.2018, 8.8.2018) for passing the course (half of the total points). If you can't attend an exercise class you can send solutions to jyrki.mottonen(at)helsinki.fi as a pdf-file before the corresponding exercise class.

Solved exercises --------> Extra points
--------------------------------------------------
30% ------------------------> 0.5p
40% ------------------------> 1.0p
50% ------------------------> 1.5p
60% ------------------------> 2.0p
70% ------------------------> 2.5p
80% ------------------------> 3.0p
90% ------------------------> 3.5p

Description

Optional course.

Master's Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is responsible for the course.

The course belongs to the Statistics and Social statistics module.

The course is available to students from other degree programmes.

Probability II and Statistical inference II

Bachelor studies

Basic knowledge of nonparametric and robust statistical methods.

Recommended time/stage of studies for completion: 1. or 2. year

Term/teaching period when the course will be offered: varying

Sign and rank estimates, tests and confidence intervals. Hodges-Lehmann -type methods.

Material given later.

Lectures and exercise classes

Exam and excercises, Course will be graded with grades 1-5

Exam, other methods will be described later