Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
16.8.2019 at 09:00 - 3.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 3.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 4.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 6.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 10.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 11.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 13.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 17.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 18.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 20.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 24.9.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 25.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 27.9.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 1.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 2.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 4.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 8.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 9.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 11.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 15.10.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Wed 16.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 18.10.2019
14:15 - 15:45

Description

This is a basic course and there is no pre-requisite to attend the course.

After completing the course students will be able to identify and describe the basic biophysical and socioeconomic mechanisms of tropical production and land use systems.

The student will have a basic understanding of the environmental degradation associated with tropical land uses and the management systems that can be utilized to enhance sustainability and environmental conservation. In addition, the major international agreements and policy processes related to tropical land uses will be discussed.

I period

This is a multidisciplinary course and gives and overview of tropical crop, livestock, forestry and agroforestry production systems. The course consists of an introduction to tropical forests, NTFPs, plantations, biofuels, agroforests, cropland management, rangeland and livestock and management, tropical soil and water resources, carbon sequestration and forests, human nutrition and food security, and international environmental agreements.

The course consists of three 2 hours weekly lectures. Attendance is recorded, but it is not mandatory.

All lectures and reading materials are available on Moodle.

A final exam will be graded on a scale of 0-5.

Teaching is in English. ME-226 is a pre-requisite course for the FOR-249 course.

University lecturer Eshetu Yirdaw

Replaces the former course 80053 (TROP120) Agriculture, agroforestry and forestry in developing countries 3 cr.