Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Kevään 2020 poikkeustilanteessa kurssi järjestetään etäopetuksena. In the exceptional situation of spring 2020 the course is arranged as online-teaching.

Enrol
13.12.2019 at 09:00 - 13.1.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 13.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 16.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 20.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 23.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 27.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 30.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 3.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 6.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 10.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 13.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 17.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 20.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 24.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Thu 27.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 9.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 11.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 16.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 18.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 23.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 25.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 30.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 1.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 6.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 8.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 20.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 22.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Mon 27.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Wed 29.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45

Conduct of the course

Kurssi järjestetään etäopetuksena.

Description

Basic courses in forest technology, wood science, forest mensuration, mathematics and statistics (recommended).

The student will learn basic concepts of programming using primarily the Python language and how to apply those in solving forestry related problems.

Spring term, period IV

Imperative and object-oriented programming. Data structures and algorithms. Monte-Carlo simulation. Lectures, home assignments, self-learning, programming exercices and exam.

Lectures 28 h, assignments and demos 24 h, exam 4 h, independent work 79 h
K28 - H24 - R10 - I79

Lee, K. D. (2010). Python programming fundamentals. Springer. (available as an e-book), lecture notes, Python internet documentation.

0-5. Student needs to pass a set of assignments and programming exercises to participate in a written exam.

The course is limited to a maximum of 24 participants. Priority will be given first to students in Forest sciences degree programme. Teaching in English. Opetus järjestetään englanniksi.

Yliopistonlehtori Ilkka Korpela

Replaces the former course 87437 (MARV216) Basic Course in Programming, 5 cr.