Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Due this exceptional situation, course is postponed to fall/2020, most likely to 17.8.-4.9.2020, if circumstances allows.

Enrol
7.1.2020 at 09:00 - 31.3.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 20.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Tue 21.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Wed 22.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Thu 23.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Fri 24.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Mon 27.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Tue 28.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Wed 29.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Thu 30.4.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Mon 4.5.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Tue 5.5.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Wed 6.5.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Thu 7.5.2020
09:15 - 16:00
Fri 8.5.2020
09:15 - 16:00

Description

This course is optional and available for students from different options if there is space on the course.

A basic microbiology laboratory course is obligatory.

Food microbiology 5 ECT

Food and environmental hygiene and control

The student can use food microbiology and water standards and methods, and understands the definition of food and water quality. The student has knowledge of food fermentations and experience of one type of food or beverage fermentation. In addition the student can evaluate the microbiological quality of indoor air and report results orally and in written format according to scientific practices.

First year, IV period

Standard methods for isolation and recognition of harmful microbes from foods and water, hygiene, microbial quality of indoor air and fermentation of food or beverages. The student gives an oral presentation of obtained results and a written report.

Standard methods (may vary from year to year) and a laboratory course compendium

The student search for and read scientific articles related to the topics of the course.

Evaluation according to scale 0-5. Oral presentation (20 %), written report (20 %) and performance during the course (60 %).

The course is intensive and require the presence of the student about 8 hours every course day. The work is done in pairs or groups. The student presents one oral presentation and writes a final report of the results.

University lecturer and Per Saris

Replaces the former course 864067 (MIKRO232) Elintarvikemikrobiologian laboratoriotyöt 5 cr.