Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
24.6.2019 at 09:00 - 11.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 23.9.2019
12:15 - 15:45
Mon 21.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Tue 22.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Wed 23.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Thu 24.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Fri 25.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Mon 28.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Tue 29.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Wed 30.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Thu 31.10.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Fri 1.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Mon 4.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Tue 5.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Wed 6.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Thu 7.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Fri 8.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Mon 11.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Tue 12.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Wed 13.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Thu 14.11.2019
10:00 - 17:30
Fri 15.11.2019
09:00 - 16:00

Description

The course is compulsory in the Medical Microbiology module of the MSc in Microbiology and Microbial Biotechnology. The course is also available to students from the Bachelor´s programmes in Molecular Biosciences, in Biology and in the Master´s programme in Genetics and Molecular Biosciences (if there is space on the course).

Basic and intermediate studies in microbiology and gene technology.

MOLE-801 Bakteriologian ja virologian harjoitustyöt, MMB-401 Seminar in evolution of microbial pathogens, MMB-403 Seminar in molecular microbiology, or equal knowledge

The course deepens the student’s theoretical knowledge and practical skills in key methods applied in cellular bacteriology and analysis of bacterial virulence. When completed the course, the student understands the theory behind the methods used on the course and knows how to apply the theoretical knowledge in practice. The student practices how to use bioinformatics in molecular and cellular bacteriology research. The student learns to critically evaluate obtained results and improves her/his skills in scientific presentation and scientific writing.

Bachelor studies 3rd year or Master studies 1st year

Periods I-II

The course focuses on methods applied in analysis of bacterial virulence mechanisms and cellular bacteriology. The course includes analysis of bacterial invasion of eukaryotic cells and bacterial proteolysis of host molecules. The course also includes cloning, expression, purification and functional analysis of bacterial surface proteins as well as analysis of bacterial genes and proteins using bioinformatics.

Course manual and related literature provided during the course in Moodle.

The student implements during the practical laboratory experiments key research techniques in molecular bacteriology that broadens the student’s comprehension of the techniques applied. Writing of the final reports is performed and assessed during the time of the course to support the writing process. The student gives a presentation on a subject related to the course or of the laboratory results to practice interpretation of results and oral scientific presentation. The student solves theoretical bioinformatics exercises related to the two practical experiments for broadening of the topic. Course feedback.

The teacher tutors the lab work, theoretical exercises and preparation of oral presentations. The teacher tutors writing of the reports throughout the course.

The grade of the course is based on two written reports in the format of original publications (90%) and an oral scientific presentation (10%). The grading scale is 0-5, the grading matrix and the grading criteria are present in Moodle.

All material of the course is available in Moodle for participants.

The course is performed as contact teaching in the laboratory for four weeks and full attendance during the entire course is required. The course includes one day of theory prior to the lab course, practical laboratory work, processing of experimental results, data search and bioinformatics exercises, oral scientific presentation and two final reports written in the format of original publications, maximum 4 pages.

Benita Westerlund-Wikström

Replaces the former course 528019 Practical exercises in Molecular Bacteriology 8 cr.