Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
1.12.2019 at 09:00 - 24.1.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 14.1.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Thu 16.1.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Tue 21.1.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Thu 23.1.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Tue 28.1.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Thu 30.1.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Tue 4.2.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Thu 6.2.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Tue 11.2.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Thu 13.2.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Tue 18.2.2020
08:15 - 09:45
Thu 20.2.2020
08:15 - 09:45

Other teaching

26.02.2020 Wed 10.00-12.00
Elina Roine
Teaching language: English

Description

Compulsory in the Virology Module and optional in the Environmental microbiology, Food microbiology and biotechnology, Medical microbiology, Microbial biotechnology and Microbiology modules of the Master’s Programme in Microbiology and Microbial Biotechnology. Also other students interested in virology can take the course.

Students understand the basic processes of gene expression as well as prokaryotic and eukaryotic cell structure and function.

Students can describe the most important steps of a viral life cycle and recognize the similarities and differences among viruses infecting different types of host cells. Students know how viruses spread and can give examples of symptoms of viral infections. Students master the basic concepts of virology and are able to apply those concepts to different situations e.g. in problem-solving. Students are able to evaluate public information about viruses and can critically discuss its validity. Students can describe antiviral strategies used to prevent or cure viral infections.

1st year in Master’s studies

Period III

Molecular aspects of viral structure and life cycle. Viruses infecting different host organisms (prokaryotes, plants and animals). Impact of viral infection on host organism and epidemiology of infection.

Lecture handouts (obligatory). Indicated chapters from Carter and Sounders “Virology, principles and applications”, 2nd Ed (voluntary).

Activating questions and polls during the lectures for feedback of understanding of the subjects taught on that lecture.

Evaluation based on exam with grading from 0 to 5 (0=fail).

Course consists of lectures (16 h) by lecturers experts in their field. Lecture attendance is voluntary. The course is assessed using an exam.

Elina Roine

Replaces the course 528006 Virukset 3 cr.