Bible paper by Dave Bullock CC BY 2.0

Welcome to the course

Dear all, welcome to the course! Please, sign in to the Moodle to get access to reading and assignments:
https://moodle.helsinki.fi/course/view.php?id=31918

See you on Monday,
Anna

Enrol
11.12.2018 at 09:00 - 20.1.2019 at 23:59
Moodle
Log in to view the registration key for Moodle.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 14.1.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 18.1.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 21.1.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Thu 24.1.2019
12:15 - 13:45
Mon 28.1.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 1.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 4.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 8.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 11.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 15.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 18.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 22.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Mon 25.2.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 1.3.2019
10:15 - 11:45

Description

Students of Master's Programme in Russian Studies have priority.

Orientation to Russian Studies, Methods and Theories; Module Global Processes in Russia minimum 50% of the module must be done.

Optional studies can be defined on the basis of the topic and students personal study plan.

Student is able to assess, compare and evaluate different theoretical and empirical approaches connected to the topic In/Equality & Sustainability in the context of Russia. Student is able to understand equality and inequality as time-bound and changing concepts. After finishing the module student recognizes and is able to explain the major factors traditionally causing social inequality, such as class, gender, age, ethnicity, place of living. Student comprehends and is able to demonstrate how these factors usually intersect. Student is able to relate different approaches to study welfare and wellbeing in contemporary societies (incl. Russia), to compare different welfare regimes, ideologies behind them and analyze their major difference. Student is also able to separate effects and responses of different regime types to inequality.

First year/period III or IV or 2nd year period I or II.

Course can consist of different parts with multidisciplinary and/or interdisciplinary approach.

List of required literature can be given in advance. Literature and other materials can be delivered in the course.

The course will be based on lectures and/or group work. The group work can be organised on the basis of problem-based learning.

The assessment of the course is based on participation and/or producing essay(s) and/or learning diary and/or group works. The grading of the course is 0-5.

Contact teaching. Compulsory attendance during the entire course.

Anna Tarasenko