Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
13.8.2019 at 09:00 - 3.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 3.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 4.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 10.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 11.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 17.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 18.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 24.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 25.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 1.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 2.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 8.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 9.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 15.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Wed 16.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45

Description

Compulsory for students in Russian Studies Master´s programme.

For students of Master´s programme in Russian Studies and for students in Master´s Programme in Environmental Change and Global Sustainability (ECGS).

Orientation to Russian Studies, Methods and Theories; Module Global Processes in Russia minimum 50% of the module must be done.

Optional studies can be defined on the basis of the topic and students personal study plan.

Students are able to identify social, economic and ecological challenges that environmental and climate changes pose in different parts of Russia. The module highlights the linkages between the environmental change and the political and economic dependencies on rents from natural resources and energy. By unfolding the interests behind environmental and energy policies, intertwined with Russia’s domestic and foreign policies, the student is able to draw a comprehensive picture on local and global sustainability challenges facing Russia. Students are able to compare and contrast approaches to climate change in Russia by focusing on discourses and practices, as well as policies and politics in the framework of overall Russian polity.

First year/period III or IV or 2nd year period I or II.

Course can consist of different parts with multidisciplinary and/or interdisciplinary approach.

List of required literature can be given in advance. Literature and other materials can be delivered in the course.

The course will be based on lectures and/or group work. The group work can be organised on the basis of problem-based learning.

The assessment of the course is based on participation and/or producing essay(s) and/or learning diary and/or group works. The grading of the course is 0-5.

Contact teaching. Compulsory attendance during the entire course.