Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
6.8.2019 at 12:00 - 31.1.2020 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 3.9.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 10.9.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 17.9.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 24.9.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 1.10.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 8.10.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 15.10.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 29.10.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 5.11.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 12.11.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 19.11.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 26.11.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 3.12.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 10.12.2019
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 14.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 21.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 28.1.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 4.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 11.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 18.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 25.2.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 10.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 17.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 24.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 31.3.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 7.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 14.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 21.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45
Tue 28.4.2020
16:15 - 17:45

Description

  • Development of presentation, writing, assessment and debating skills within social science.
  • Developing and assessing research plan
  • Presentation of research results
  • Designing research articles or monograph chapters

All periods, once a fortnight. The student should participate in the seminar from the very beginning of his/her doctoral studies, and continue for two academic years. It is to be recommended to continue seminar participation also during the 3rd and 4th year of doctoral studies, even if the credits for those years are not part of the obligatory studies.

The key activity in this course is intellectual debate between peers concerning specific written and orally presented texts that relate to the seminar research area. That is also the core teaching method: providing participants regular and sustained practice in the most important intellectual skills of an academic, while at the same time regularly exposing the participants to state of the art debates in their own discipline. The techniques used will include: guidance on the writing and presentation of texts; oral presentations made using visual and multimedia aids; practice in constructive criticism, defence of an argument, and development of questioning and answering skills.

The seminar is a space in which participants develop their own research, learn to present it and gain knowledge of their own discipline. As such, it is not a graded course. Most important for this course is regular attendance and active participation in the seminar

Course credits:

  • 10 credits, earned through participation in at least two academic years.
  • 5 credits Action, interaction and social relations I + 5 credits Action, interaction and social relations II

Language of instruction: English, Finnish

Seminar has biweekly meetings. Each participant presents one written paper per term; the paper may involve research proposal, preliminary data-analysis, or manuscript of a monograph chapter or a journal article.

Attendance is compulsory, unless given an exemption on the grounds of having already completed an equivalent course. In that case, attendance is nevertheless strongly recommended, as the seminar is the key venue where the doctoral research environment is developed and maintained.