CRC Press

The basics of game programming: world building, asset management, scripting, game programming techniques, among other topics.

NOTE. All written course materials (lecture slides, exercises, exams) will be in English but lectures are spoken in Finnish. The lectures are not obligatory. Participating in exercise groups is strongly recommended. The exercise groups use English as the working language. Preliminary course outline:
1. Introduction and overview
2. Game architecture
3. 2D Computer Graphics
4. Scripting and scripting languages
5. C# as a scripting language
6. Sample game engine

You need to register via weboodi.helsinki.fi/ for the course exam ten (10) days before the exam date 17.12.2018.
Late registrations are not accepted.

Enrol

Messages

Maria Efimova

Published, 20.11.2018 at 14:21

Due to the Independence Day, the session for December 6th will be held on Wednesday 5.12. 12-14p.m. and will be held in classroom B222.

Interaction

Lectures start on Wed 31.10. 14-16 (CK112) , and exercise sessions start on Tue 06.11. 14-16 (D112). Lectures are spoken in Finnish. The exercise groups (Tue 14 - 16 D122, Thu 14 - 16 D123 ) use English as the working language. Exercise solutions are independently prepared as home work, and then presented and discussed in exercise meetings. Marking an exercise as done means that you are prepared to show and present your solution. Solved exercises give exam points (max 6).

The course exam is given on Monday 17.12. 16.00 (A111). Please check the time and place just before the examination. The exam is based on the lecture materials and exercises. Normal resit examinations can be taken after the course. These resit exams are based on the lectures, exercises, and a selected sets of the course textbook chapters (excluding those that were not part of the lectures/exercises).

You need to have a user name and a password to access the intranet of the CS department.
If you are an exchange or a minoring student, please e-mail your need to tktl-luvat@cs.helsinki.fi.
Give your ad-hy user name. Don't send your password! You will receive instructions by e-mail.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Wed 31.10.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 2.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 7.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 9.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 14.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 16.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 21.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 23.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 28.11.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 30.11.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 5.12.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 7.12.2018
12:15 - 14:00
Wed 12.12.2018
14:15 - 16:00
Fri 14.12.2018
12:15 - 14:00

Other teaching

06.11. - 11.12.2018 Tue 14.15-16.00
Maria Efimova
Teaching language: English
08.11. - 29.11.2018 Thu 14.15-16.00
05.12. - 05.12.2018 Wed 12.15-14.00
13.12. - 13.12.2018 Thu 14.15-16.00
Maria Efimova
Teaching language: English

Material

The course selectively utilizes the following textbooks.

Jason Gregory: Game Engine Architecture (3rd ed.). CRC Press, August 2018.
Robert Nystrom, Game Programming Patterns. Genever Benning, 2014.
Sanjay Madhav: Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques. Addison-Wesley, 2014.

Tasks

Nov 6 - 8, 2018

Nov 13 - 15, 2018

Nov 20 - 22, 2018

Nov 27 - 29, 2018

Dec 4 - 5, 2018

Dec 11 - 13, 2018