Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
12.8.2019 at 09:00 - 12.9.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Thu 12.9.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 19.9.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 26.9.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 3.10.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 10.10.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 17.10.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 31.10.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 7.11.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 14.11.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 21.11.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 28.11.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 5.12.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 12.12.2019
09:15 - 13:00
Thu 19.12.2019
09:15 - 13:00

Description

Compulsory in the USP-SYSTEMS line

USP / Landscape Architecture (Aalto University) is responsible for the course

The course belongs to the USP-300 module

Is available to students from Geography programme, but the number of students may be limited (applications via JOO-system).

USP major students: The course Introduction to USP needs to be passed.

After completing the course students know the basics of strategic green area planning. They are able to identify and integrate in planning the key spaces and functions of urban green infrastructures, their associated ecosystem services as well as the basic conditions for their sustainable management.

Recommended time for completion: second year

The course is offered in fall term, periods 1 + 2 (Aalto).

Firstly, the course provides a general knowledge of the key concepts in Green Urban Planning. Secondly, the course adds contemporary concepts in Green Urban Planning and explores their interconnections (Green Infrastructures, Ecosystem services, Urban metabolisms, Nature based solutions, etc.). Thirdly, the course integrates the acquired knowledge in the analysis, diagnosis and improvement of cities and specific urban areas.

To be indicated and provided by the teachers

Case teaching-studies / Project work / Learning by doing and Problem based learning / Lectures / Reading Seminars / Field trips / Peer reviews / Reviews with teachers and external experts

Development of sequential case studies and reviews, grades between 0 and 5 (5 for exercises with very high relational approaches, extended abstract level and outstanding integration of the key concepts of the course in the case studies).

Tutored studies 34 hrs (lectures, class assignments, assignments, seminars, feedback reviews), independent study 100 hrs (design assignments), in total 134 hrs (5 credits); Students will need to submit and present all the required assignments and participate in the scheduled mid-reviews and final review.

Juanjo Galan-Vivas (juanjo.galan@aalto.fi)