Photo credits: course team

Visual Anthropology/Visual Methods in Social Sciences

This course offers students basic skills in visual methods through film screenings and analysis, practitioner-led lectures, weekly readings, and hands-on audio-visual projects and workshopping. After participating in the course, students will be able to prepare research projects and plans that include audio-visual methods, reflect upon praxis through the lense of postcoloniality and research ethics. The course pedagogy is designed for maximum of 20 students.

Course requirements: lecture and clinic/tutorial session attendance, appraisal of one ethnographic/anthropological film, reflective learning diary, visual method project plan, and presenting the project outcomes at the 2-day end of the course workshop.

Enrol
15.8.2019 at 09:00 - 10.10.2019 at 23:59

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Mon 28.10.2019
10:15 - 13:45
Thu 31.10.2019
10:15 - 13:45
Mon 4.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 7.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 11.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 14.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 18.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 21.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 25.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 28.11.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 2.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Tue 3.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 9.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Thu 12.12.2019
14:15 - 15:45
Mon 16.12.2019
10:15 - 13:45
Tue 17.12.2019
10:15 - 13:45

Description

By the end of the course, successful students possess basic knowledge in the theory and methods of visual anthropology. They are familiar with the history of visual documentation in social scientific research and have an anthropological understanding of different practices of representation and reception.

The course provides an overview of the perspectives, theories, and methods of visual anthropology and introduces the student to materials in anthropology of ethnographic film, photography, and art.

Lecture course that includes written assignments and group discussions. Film screenings are included in the lectures.