Kaisa_2012_3_photo by Veikko Somerpuro

Enrol
15.8.2019 at 09:00 - 10.9.2019 at 23:59
Moodle
Log in to view the registration key for Moodle.

Timetable

Here is the course’s teaching schedule. Check the description for possible other schedules.

DateTimeLocation
Tue 10.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 13.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 17.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 20.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 24.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 27.9.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 1.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 4.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 8.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 11.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Tue 15.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45
Fri 18.10.2019
10:15 - 11:45

Description

Restrictions on participation will be announced in the annual teaching programme.

During the course, students will attain skills in conflict analysis and a more profound understanding of its theoretical approaches. Students will also become familiar with the central models, institutions and active parties of peace mediation, in addition to attaining the practical and social skills required for discussing their strengths and weaknesses. Through the examination of specific cases, students will be trained to consider how different solutions impact development and sustainable peace.

This course examines conflict analysis, theories related to the connection between (under)development and conflicts, as well as thoughts on and models of peaceful conflict resolution

Literature (compulsory for the course)

· Elianor O’Gorman: Conflict and Development. (E-book)

· Roger Mac Ginty and Andrew Williams: Conflict and Development. (E-book)

· Tsjeard Bouta, Georg Frerks, Ian Bannon: Gender, Conflict, and Development. (E-book)

· Henni Alava (ed.): Exploring the Security–Development Nexus: Perspectives from Nepal, Northern Uganda and 'Sugango'. (E-book)

On a scale of 0 to 5. All completed studies will be taken into consideration, while self-assessment is promoted.

Thematic seminar in a small group